Team

Prof. Dr. Stanislav N. Gorb

group leader

+49 (0)431880-4513


email: sgorb@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1016



Dr. Emre Kizilkan

postdoc

+49 (0)431 880-4506


email: ekizilkan@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1009

Photoresponsive bioinspired pick-and-drop devices and funtionalized surfaces for enhanced adhesion.
current project

Dr. Yun Ma

postdoc

+49 (0)431 880-4504


email: yunma@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1001a

Wing coupling mechanisms of insects.

Dr. Yoko Matsumura

postdoc

+49 (0)431 880-4511


email: yoko.matumura.hamupeni@gmail.com
room: 1005

Male and female genital interactions in insects with a special focus on species having hyper-elongated copulatory organs.
current project

Dr. Jan Michels

postdoc

+49 (0)431 880-4511


email: jmichels@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1005

Analyses of arthropod exoskeleton autofluorescences.
current project

Dr. Konstantin Nadein

postdoc

+49 (0)431 880-4517


email: knadein@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1020

Functional design of beetle leg joints: morphology, tribology, and cuticular microstructure.
current project

Dr. Hamed Rajabi

postdoc

+49 (0)431 880-4506


email: hrajabi@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1009

Mechanics of high-performance, light-weight biological materials and biomimetic applications for technology.
current projects 1 I 2 I 3 I 4

Dr. Clemens Schaber

postdoc

+49 (0)431 880-4509


email: cschaber@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1007

Spider locomotion and dry adhesive systems.
current project

Angela Veenendaal

secretary

+49 (0)431880-4514


email: aveenendaal@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1012

Taking care of personal and financial issues.

Esther Appel

technician

+49 (0)431 880-4519


email: eappel@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1008

Need some preparational advice or feeling "unsafe" about something? Contact me. Working also on functional morphology of dragonfly and damselfly wings.
current project

Dr. Alexander Kovalev

technician

+49 (0)431 880-4519


email: akovalev@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1008

Taking care of our machines and involved in collaborative and own projects related to biomechanics, biotribology, and spectroscopy.
current project

Joachim Oesert

technician

+49 (0)431 880-4519


email: joesert@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1008

If something seems to be impossible for you, contact me ;-).

Nienke Bijma

PhD student

+49 (0)431 880-4511


email: nbijma@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1005

Biomechanical and morphological design of the locomotor system in dung beetles.
current project

Kai Deng

PhD student

+49 (0)431 880-4859


email: kdeng@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1004

Functional morphology and biomechanics of bird feathers.
current project

Shahab Eshghi

PhD student

+49 (0)431 880-4859


email: sh.eshghi@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1004

Computer design of an artificial flapping-wing inspired by insect wings; multi-disciplinary approach including single- and multi-objective optimization, finite element method and computer vision.
current project

Mohsen Jafarpour

PhD student

+49 (0)431 880-4509


email: mjafarpour@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1007

Investigation of the mechanics of biological materials and structures using finite element method; Design and fabrication of bioinspired structures.
current project

Ali Khaheshi

PhD student

+49 (0)431 880-4859


email: akhaheshi@hotmail.com
room: 1004

Functional composite structures inspired by insect wings.

Chuchu Li

PhD student

+49 (0)431 880-4509


email: cli@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1007

Mechanical properties of the cuticle in different body parts of locusts.

Javad Meshkani

PhD student

+49 (0)431 880-4505


email: jmeshkani@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
room: 1004

Animal locomotion on water surfaces.